Inscriere cercetatori

Premii Ad Astra

premii Ad Astra

Asociația Ad Astra anunță lansarea proiectului Premiilor Ad Astra 2022 (link aici), care își propune identificarea și popularizarea modelelor de succes, a rezultatelor excepționale ale cercetătorilor români din țară și din afara ei. Regulamentul de participare se poate gasi aici, iar  pagina de inscriere se poate accesa aici.

Asociatia Ad Astra a cercetatorilor romani lanseaza BAZA DE DATE A CERCETATORILOR ROMANI DIN DIASPORA. Scopul acestei baze de date este aceea de a stimula colaborarea dintre cercetatorii romani de peste hotare dar si cu cercetatorii din Romania. Cercetatorii care doresc sa fie nominalizati in aceasta baza de date sunt rugati sa trimita un email la

2nd Call for Papers: Geomorphometry 2009

Geomorphometry 2009
29 August – 2 September 2009
Zurich, Switzerland


Ross Purves University of Zurich
Stephan Gruber University of Zurich
Tomislav Hengl University of Amsterdam

Registration open 1 March 2009
Extended abstracts due 1 March 2009
Notification of acceptance 1 April 2009
Final camera-ready manuscripts due 1 May 2009
Early registration deadline 15 May 2009
Late registration deadline 14 August 2009
Geomorphometry 2009 Workshops 29 August & 30 August 2009
Geomorphometry 2009 31 August – 2 September 2009

The aim of Geomorphometry 2009 is to bring together researchers to present and discuss developments in the field of quantitative modelling and analysis of elevation data. Geomorphometry is the science of quantitative land-surface analysis and description at diverse spatial scales. It draws upon mathematical, statistical and image-processing techniques and interfaces with many disciplines including hydrology, geology, computational geometry, geomorphology, remote sensing, geographic information science and geography. The conference aims to attract leading researchers in geomorphometry presenting methodological advances in the field and to provide young researchers with an opportunity to present new results.

The Geomorphometry 2009 conference will continue a series initiated by the Terrain Analysis and Digital Terrain Modelling conference hosted by Nanjing Normal University in November 2006.

Possible topics include, but are not limited to:

– Extraction of land-surface parameters from DEMs
– Implications of novel data sources
– Identification and classification of land-surface objects
– Uncertainty in geomorphometry
– Semantics of land-surface description
– Visualisation in geomorphometry
– Implications of scale and resolution
– Flow and hydrological modelling using DEMs
– Efficient methods for application to large data sets
– Novel applications of geomorphometry
– Planetary geomorphometry

We specifically aim at papers with new methodological insights and thus papers which simply describe the application of GIS are discouraged.

The conference programme will be based around a single track of papers, all of which will be subject to review in the form of extended abstracts by members of the programme committee. Criteria for paper acceptance will include relevance to the conference, novelty, scientific significance, relation to previous work in the domain and the quality of presentation. A number of keynotes and open sessions, led by outstanding experts in the field are also planned.

The proceedings will be made available both digitally and as printed working materials to attendees at the time of the conference and archived online. A special issue of Hydrology and Earth System Sciences ( is planned, and selected authors will be invited to submit full papers for review for this special issue.

Geomorphometry will host up to three workshops, each with 15-30 attendees on the 29th and 30th August. Details of these workshops will be available in mid-February.

Prospective authors are invited to submit extended abstracts of up to 2000 words by the 1st of March 2009. Papers should be prepared according to the following guidelines (Word Document (PDF Papers must be submitted as PDF through the EasyChair system at If you do not already have an EasyChair account follow the onscreen instructions to create one.

Registration will open on the 1st of March 2009. Early registration rates for the conference (before 15th of May) will be 450 Swiss Francs. Late registration rates will be 550 Swiss Francs.

Katherine Arrell University of Leeds, UK
Alexander Brenning University of Waterloo, Canada
Juergen Boehner University of Hamburg, Germany
Olaf Conrad University of Hamburg, Germany
Lucian Dragut University of Salzburg, Austria
Ian Evans Durham University, UK
Peter Fisher University of Leicester, UK
John Gallant CSIRO, Australia
Paul Gessler University of Idaho, USA
Stephan Gruber University of Zurich, Switzerland
Peter Guth US Naval Academy, USA
Tomislav Hengl University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
Oliver Korup WSL, Switzerland
John Lindsay University of Guelph, Canada
Helena Mitasova North Carolina State University, USA
Peter Molnar ETH, Switzerland
Scott Peckham Rivix, USA
Ross Purves University of Zurich, Switzerland
Hannes Reuter Joint Research Centre, Italy
Jochen Schmidt NIWA, New Zealand
Ralph Straumann University of Zurich, Switzerland
Andy Turner Leeds University, UK
Robert Weibel University of Zurich, Switzerland
John Wilson University of Southern California, USA
Jo Wood City University, UK
Qiming Zhou Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong